Northeast Section

Upcoming NESOWEA events can be found under the events tab.

The Northeast Section covers the following counties:

Ashland, Ashtabula, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Holmes, Knox, Lake, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Morrow, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, and Wayne Counties.

Interested in joining NESOWEA? Please contact Membership Chair, Doug Harris. Please note this section only membership does not grant any membership or member benefits at the state OWEA or national WEF level.

Questions or comments? Email the NESOWEA Executive Committee at

Call for Abstracts

2024-2025 Executive Committee


Muralikrishna Chelupati, Stantec

Vice President

Kristi Babcock, City of Wadsworth


Gary Fedak, Lake County


Doug Dietzel, City of Lorain

Third Year

Kevin Aiken, City of Painesville

Second Year

Jennifer Vydra, EnviroScience

First Year

Tanner Adair, AECOM

Past President 

Steve Baytos, City of Akron

State Delegate

Kathryn Crestani, Jacobs

Contact the NESOWEA EC if you are interested in
applying for a position on the NESOWEA Executive Committee.

Contact the NESOWEA EC if you would like to access NESOWEA Policies & Procedures.

NESOWEA Website Sponsors


AwardsDan Johnson
BioMassters GolfMike Cook
Collection SystemsSven Wiberg
Government AffairsDebbie Houdeshell
Industrial Waste/PretreatmentScott Broski
Laboratory AnalystsTom Zocolo & Nicole Erkkila
MembershipDoug Harris
Past PresidentMike Cook
Plant Operations/SafetyKristi Babcock
PublicationsJoe Pavlick
Public OutreachSteve Baytos
ResidualsMike Welke
Science FairsRavi Tippireddy & Sammy Patridge
Student Design CompetitionMuralikrishna Chelupati
WatershedBill Zawiski
Young ProfessionalsTanner Adair & Doug Dietzel

Sparkling Waters Newsletter

NESOWEA Scholarship

Student Design

View the Student Design page for additional information.

Current & Past Treasurers

2022-PresentGary FedakLake County
2014 - 2022Todd Taylorms consultants
2008 - 2014Art KimptonPelton Environmental
2002 - 2008Dave FrankArcadis
1996 - 2002Rick ReedCTI Engineers

Past Presidents

2022Jennie CelikHDR
2021Bill ZawiskiOhio EPA
2020Mike CookADS
2019Doug HarrisCity of Canton
2018Jim CooperArcadis
2017Kathy RichardsCity of Akron
2016Paul SolanicsCity of Solon
2015Tom VoldrichCT Consultants
2014Denise SemanCity of Youngstown
2013Mary Ann DriscollBurgess & Niple
2012Lance WillardCity of Columbiana
2011Ed HallerNEORSD
2010Mike WelkeCity of Warren
2009Robert HrusovskyMWH
2008John LeiendeckerCity of Canton
2007Dan JohnsonBurgess & Niple
2006Bob HollisSummit Co. – DOES
2005Dan MossBurgess & Niple
2004Ted BakerBaker & Associates
2003Eva HatvaniNEORSD
2002Tracy MillsCity of Canton
2001Terry GellnerCT Consultants
2000Tom AngeloCity of Warren
1999Dianne SumegoArcadis
1998Debbie HoudeshellSummit Co. – DOES
1997Ralph Guesman
1996Hugh BlocksidgeMetcalf & Eddy
1995Everett McDariesRetired
1994Bob BrownCity of Kent
1993Lew DebevecNEORSD
1992Chuck ZibbelBurgess & Niple
1991Ron BellNortheast District OPEA
1990Andy Catanzarite
1989Jim GreenerRetired
1988Bob MoteDeceased
1987Dick RobertsCity of Solon
1986Keith RileyNortheast District OEPA
1985Gary JohnsonArcadis
1984Bud CurtisURS (Va.)
1983Walt MetzgerDeceased
1982Ed RogozinskiBissNuss Inc.
1981Tom CardarelliDeceased
1980Michael BenzaMichael Benza & Assoc.
1979Krist JakeDeceased
1978Ken KillingerCity of Avon Lake
1977Dwane StullDK Stull & Assoc.
1976Ray MillerODOT
1975Tony CatanzariteRetired
1974Walter WhiteRetired
1973Merle LutzDeceased
1972Fred VargoDeceased
1971Bob TafelPortage County
1970David DunnDeceased
1969John KillinenDeceased
1968Dave Conaut, Jr.Deceased
1967James ArmalineCampbell
1966Ernest ClabaughDeceased
1965Clyde KirschCity of Cleveland
1964Clyde C. CuppsDeceased
1963George Simpson
1962George Pforsich
1961William Hill
1960R.N. Simonsen
1959Mort W. AkeDeceased
1958William H. Weise
1957Eugene Schlechty





1951Herbert HansenDeceased

1949John O. Barrett






1942P. A. Williams
1941Joseph Wein
1940R. F. Snyder1st NE Chairman